My Fall Book Talk List…

One of my favorite back-to-school rituals is looking for fresh children’s novels to book talk or read aloud in the fall. There are so many great new titles out there, and I always want a variety of new kids’ books in my arsenal to whip out like a magician and say, “But have you read THIS?” I scour my favorite blogs and hound my teacher friends and the employees at my neighborhood bookstore. Here’s what I’m reading!

  • Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley – This book is everywhere, and I don’t want to be the only teacher who hasn’t read it.
  • The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett and Jory John – Like any book, it’s full of characters, but this book is full of CHARACTERS. A legendary prankster comes to a new school and meets his match. I laughed – a lot.
  • Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt – Being a kid is tough guys. It’s even tougher when you don’t think you’re smart.
  • Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan – Currently this novel is serving as a paperweight on my desk. Though I suppose you’d need some extra pages to take three different lives and weave them into one magical tale. Might be a good e-reader choice.
  • Half a Chance by Cynthia Lord – Sometimes using your talents means positive things for you but can have negative consequences for your friends. Bound to stir up some interesting conversations.
  • The War That Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley – Oh my gosh, this book! I just love a good World War II era novel and always have. This one is exciting and supremely satisfying.

What chapter books are you excited about introducing to your students this fall?

-por jenny

Leave a comment